Let's talk cleaning (and other things). Find us on Facebook.

Hertel

FRANçAIS
Menu

FAQ

HERTEL PRODUCTS VS. HOMEMADE PREPARATIONS

Can I use a homemade preparation (e.g. baking soda and hot water) for cleaning?

Yes, you can. However, homemade cleaning products are generally not as efficient as commercially formulated products, and using them often requires extra effort and time spent cleaning. Commercially formulated products undergo extensive safety and performance tests before they are marketed.

Homemade cleaners may also use more products and more hot water to get the job done than commercially formulated products, which can mean extra costs. For example, cream of tartar, which is sometimes recommended as a metal cleaner, is 12 times more expensive per unit weight than a commercial aluminum cleaner.

In addition, studies have shown that most home recipes have no disinfectant properties. This is particularly important when there are health-related reasons for using an antibacterial household cleaning product, such as on cutting boards that might be contaminated with Salmonella or on a surface that has been in contact with someone who is sick. Only disinfectants approved by Health Canada have been tested for their ability to kill germs.

MIXING PRODUCTS

Can I mix two or more household cleaning products for better results?

Unless specifically indicated on the product label, it is not recommended to mix household cleaning products. Ingredients in cleaning products may cause a chemical reaction that can release harmful or unpleasant substances.

ASTHMA AND ALLERGIES

How can household cleaners help Canadians suffering from allergies or asthma?

Many things can trigger an asthma attack, including common allergens such as pet dander, dust mites, mould, mildew and pollen. Some people get symptoms from only one allergen, while others can be affected by more than one. Household cleaning, as part of an effective allergen management plan, can help control these allergens and is one of the easiest steps in reducing allergies or asthma attacks.

Is Hertel Cherry Almond All Purpose Cleaner dangerous for people with nut allergies?

No, since this product doesn’t contain any almonds. Only artificial scents are used.

ANIMALS

Are Hertel products tested on animals?

It is a long-standing company policy that none of our products are tested on animals under any circumstances.

EXPIRY DATE

Do Hertel products have an expiry date?

Hertel products do not have an expiration date with the exception of those with disinfecting properties since they are registered with Health Canada (Hertel Multi-surface Disinfectant, Hertel Plus, Hertel Bathroom with Bleach, Hertel Cream, Hertel Toilet Bowl and Hertel All Purpose Spray). For those products, an expiry date is written on the web page to guarantee their disinfecting properties.

It should be noted that over a long period of time, most cleaning products can lose some of their initial qualities. When the products are expired, they do not becoming dangerous but simply less effective. For long-lasting cleaning power, always keep your products in a dry place at a moderate temperature.

BIODEGRADABILITY

What is it?

Biodegradability is the ability of a substance to break down by the action of microorganisms; a biodegradable product is less likely to harm the environment.

Although, in absolute terms, this characteristic can apply to most known substances, according to an internationally recognized and accepted standard, a product is only considered biodegradable if it is likely to break down by the action of microorganisms in precise conditions and within a determined period. Certain internationally recognized organizations, such as the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, OECD, have developed and published methods to determine whether a substance can be classified as biodegradable. Therefore, to be considered biodegradable, a substance must have been submitted to a universally recognized method for determining biodegradability and a reference to the method used must accompany the product declaration.

What about Hertel products?

We chose to make the great majority of Hertel products biodegradable according to OECD 301D norms. There are two exceptions: Disinfecting Bathroom cleaner with Bleach and Toilet Bowl cleaner. To ensure their effectiveness, these products contain active ingredients that are not biodegradable according to the current norm.

Hertel products with the “biodegradable” logo on the label have been tested according to this norm by an independent laboratory and have passed all the tests.

Accordingly, Hertel products comply with OECD 301D test norms, which stipulate that a substance is considered biodegradable if 60% of it biodegrades within 28 days. Therefore, this is a fairly reliable indication that complete decomposition is not too far in the future.
Hertel products are biodegradable at a rate of 60% or more within 28 days; this varies from product to product.

Hertel has signed the voluntary code for the optimization of containers, packaging and print materials, an Éco Entreprises Québec initiative.

PHOSPHATE

Why is phosphate harmful to the environment?

When discharged into waterways, common household products containing phosphate represent a danger to marine ecosystems by accelerating the growth of marine plants (blue algae), which consume a great deal of oxygen; this subsequently leads to the disappearance fish and other marine life.

“Cyanobacteria” is the scientific name for blue algae, which form in shallow water that is tepid and calm or still. Blue algae are made up of cells that can generate poisonous toxins (cyanobacteria). A mass of cyanobacteria in water is called a water bloom or sometimes a proliferation, and they generally occur during the hot summer months.

These toxins can be separated into various categories: some of them can affect the liver (hepatotoxins) or the nervous system (neurotoxins), whereas others only irritate the skin.

Do Hertel products contain phosphate?

None of the Hertel cleaning products contain phosphate.

RECYCLABLE CONTAINERS

Are the containers of Hertel products recyclables?

Hertel containers are recyclable.

We have decided to use a completely recyclable container, because we believe that this alternative can help the environment by reducing the amount of waste sent to landfill sites.

Instead of using biodegradable plastic, we opted for recyclable containers, which are better suited to the situation in Quebec and for use with household cleaners.

A plastic is considered biodegradable if it breaks down by the action of microorganisms when in contact with oxygen in the air. However, sending biodegradable plastic bottles to landfill sites would not be an ecological approach, since the volume of waste in landfills is too great for the plastic to be in contact with the elements necessary for its decomposition.

In addition, commercially available biodegradable resins carry a risk of reacting with cleaning products, which is not ideal.

Therefore, Lavo Inc. recommends reusing containers for various uses and recycling to promote a healthier environment.

TOXICITY

What is considered a toxic product?

There are many definitions of toxicity. According to Health Canada, a toxic product is a chemical product that is:

  • is capable of causing a lethal effect on a human;
  • is capable of causing a serious and irreversible but non-lethal effect on a human, such as a depressed level of consciousness, muscular weakness or paralysis, acute renal or hepatic failure, arrhythmia, hypotension, dyspnea, respiratory depression, pulmonary edema or optic neuritis; or
  • is identified in Part 1 of the Consumer Chemicals and Containers Regulations (2001) as a Category 1 toxic product.

What about Hertel products?

With this in mind, Hertel products have been formulated to be non-toxic.

Are cleaning products more toxic than the bacteria they are designed to eliminate?

No. All substances in household cleaning products are regulated by Health Canada and Environment Canada under various acts and regulations, and have been proven safe and effective by the manufacturer when used according to the label instructions.

Cleaning and controlling the spread of germs has a beneficial impact on personal and community health.

Disinfectants or antibacterial cleaners, for example, kill bacteria such as Salmonella, which causes gastrointestinal illness, Staphylococcus, which causes skin infections, and Pseudomonas. The Hertel products line features 5 disinfectant products: Hertel Plus and Hertel Bathroom with La Parisienne Bleach, Hertel Cream, Hertel Toilet Bowl cleaner and Hertel All Purpose Spray (Lemon Verbena fragrance). To kill germs you have to apply one of these products and allow them to stand for 10 minutes before rinsing.

SEPTIC TANKS

Are Hertel products safe for septic tanks?

If used as recommended on the label, Hertel products are safe for septic tanks. Usually, products are mixed with water before going into the septic tank. Therefore, the product is considerably diluted and contains a very low concentration that is safe for the bacteria in the septic tank. Also, most Hertel products are biodegradable, environmentally friendly and do not contain phosphate. However, it is not recommended to pour Hertel products directly into the septic tank.

On jase ménage (mais pas que ça). Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook.

Hertel

ENGLISH
Menu

FAQ

PRODUITS HERTEL VS MÉLANGE MAISON

Peut-on utiliser un mélange maison (ex : bicarbonate de soude et eau chaude, ou encore vinaigre ou borax) pour nettoyer?

Oui, bien sûr. Toutefois, comme les produits nettoyants maison ne sont en général pas aussi efficaces que les produits nettoyants formulés dans le commerce, leur utilisation exige souvent des efforts supplémentaires et plus de temps consacré au nettoyage. Les produits nettoyants formulés dans le commerce subissent des évaluations approfondies quant à leur innocuité et à leur rendement, avant d’être mis en marché.

Les consommateurs qui font usage de produits nettoyants maison doivent peut-être utiliser une plus grande quantité de produit et d’eau chaude pour faire le travail, ce qui risque d’ajouter au coût. Par exemple, la crème de tartre, dont l’emploi est parfois recommandé pour nettoyer le métal, coûte 12 fois plus cher par unité de poids qu’un nettoyant pour l’aluminium en poudre du commerce.

En outre, des études ont montré que la majorité des produits maison n’ont aucune propriété désinfectante, surtout quand il existe des raisons afférentes à la santé pour utiliser un nettoyant désinfectant ménager, par exemple pour nettoyer une planche à découper risquant d’avoir été contaminée par la salmonelle ou une surface qui a été en contact avec une personne malade. Seuls les désinfectants approuvés par Santé Canada ont été évalués quant à leur capacité de tuer les germes.re






MÉLANGE DE PRODUITS

Peut-on mélanger deux ou plusieurs produits de nettoyage afin d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats?

À moins d’indication spécifique sur l’étiquette du produit, il n’est pas recommandé de mélanger deux ou plusieurs produits de nettoyage ensemble, car une réaction chimique pourrait avoir lieu entre les composantes de nettoyants mélangés, amenant la création de sous-produits nocifs ou indésirables.






ASTHME ET ALLERGIES

Comment les nettoyants domestiques aident-ils les Canadiens souffrant d’allergies et d’asthme?

Bien des éléments peuvent provoquer une crise ou un épisode d’asthme, notamment des allergènes courants (tels que les squames animales, les acariens, les moisissures et le pollen). Certaines personnes sont sensibles à un seul allergène, d’autres à plusieurs. Dans le cadre d’un plan efficace de gestion des allergènes, le nettoyage aide à les éliminer et constitue l’un des moyens les plus faciles de réduire les symptômes d’allergies ou d’asthme.






Est-ce que le Hertel Tout Usage Cerise Amande est dangereux pour les gens ayant une allergie alimentaire aux noix ?

Non, puisque ce produit ne contient pas d’amande. Il est composé d’arômes artificiels seulement.






ANIMAUX

Est-ce que les produits Hertel sont testés sur des animaux?

Nous avons comme politique d’entreprise depuis toujours de ne pas tester nos produits sur les animaux en aucune circonstance.






DATE D’EXPIRATION

Retrouve-t-on une date d’expiration sur les produits Hertel?

Les produits Hertel n’ont pas de date d’expiration sauf dans le cas de ceux qui ont des propriétés désinfectantes puisqu’ils sont homologués par Santé Canada (Hertel Désinfectant Multi-surface, Hertel Plus, Hertel salle de bains avec eau de Javel, Hertel crème, Hertel cuvette et Hertel tout usage à vaporiser). Pour ces produits, une date d’expiration est indiquée sur la page web, et ce afin de garantir leur caractère désinfectant.

Il est bon de préciser qu’à la longue, tous les produits nettoyants peuvent perdre certaines de leurs propriétés initiales. Lorsque le produit n’est plus bon, il ne devient pas dangereux, mais simplement moins efficace. Pour maximiser la durée de vie de vos produits, entreposez-les dans un endroit sec et tempéré.






BIODÉGRADABILITÉ

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

La biodégradabilité est la capacité d’une substance à se décomposer par l’action de microorganismes.

Bien que, dans l’absolu, cette caractéristique puisse s’appliquer à la grande majorité des substances connues, selon la convention mondialement reconnue et acceptée, un produit n’est considéré biodégradable que s’il est susceptible de se décomposer par l’action de microorganismes dans des conditions précises et à l’intérieur d’une période déterminée. Certaines organisations reconnues internationalement telle l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) ont développé et publié des méthodes selon lesquelles une substance pourrait être classée comme étant biodégradable. Par conséquent, pour être reconnue biodégradable, une substance doit avoir été soumise à une méthode universellement reconnue à laquelle la déclaration de biodégradabilité doit faire référence.






Et pour les produits Hertel?

Nous avons choisi de rendre la grande majorité des produits Hertel biodégradables en vertu de la norme 301D de l’OCDE. Les deux exceptions sont le nettoyant désinfectant avec eau de Javel et le nettoyant pour cuvette, qui, pour une question d’efficacité, contiennent des ingrédients actifs qui ne sont pas biodégradables selon la norme en vigueur.

Les produits Hertel qui portent la mention « biodégradable » ont tous été testés selon cette norme par un laboratoire indépendant et ils ont réussi tous les tests.

Par conséquent, les produits Hertel sont conformes à la norme 301D de l’OCDE stipule que lorsqu’au moins 60% d’une substance se biodégrade à l’intérieur de 28 jours, cette substance est d’ores et déjà considérée biodégradable puisque c’est une indication assez fiable pour affirmer que la décomposition totale n’est plus très loin. Les produits Hertel sont donc biodégradables à 60% ou plus à l’intérieur de 28 jours, selon le produit.






Hertel a signé le code volontaire pour l’optimisation des contenants, emballages et imprimés, une initiative d’Éco Entreprises Québec.

PHOSPHATES

Pourquoi les phosphates sont-ils nocifs pour l’environnement?

Lorsqu’ils sont déversés dans les eaux, les produits domestiques contenant des phosphates constituent un danger pour les écosystèmes marins en favorisant une croissance supérieure à la normale des plantes aquatiques (algues bleues). Ces dernières consomment une grande quantité d’oxygène et contribuent à faire disparaître les poissons et autres éléments de la vie marine.

« Cyanobactéries » est le nom scientifique que l’on donne aux algues bleues. Elles se forment dans les eaux peu profondes, tièdes et calmes ou immobiles. Elles sont composées de cellules qui peuvent générer des poisons; les toxines cyanobactériennes. Une masse de cyanobactéries dans l’eau est appelée fleur d’eau ou parfois prolifération. Il est établi qu’elles surviennent généralement pendant les mois chauds d’été.

Ces toxines peuvent être séparées en différentes catégories : certaines d’entre elles peuvent attaquer le foie (hépatotoxines) ou le système nerveux (neurotoxines), alors que d’autres ne font qu’irriter la peau.






Les produits Hertel contiennent-ils des phosphates?

Aucun produit nettoyant Hertel ne contient de phosphates.






CONTENANTS RECYCLABLES

Les contenants des produits Hertel sont-ils recyclables?

Les contenants des produits Hertel sont recyclables.

Nous avons choisi d’utiliser des contenants entièrement recyclables, car nous croyons que cette alternative peut aider l’environnement en réduisant la quantité de déchets qu’on envoie dans les sites d’enfouissement.

Nous avons opté pour des contenants recyclables au lieu d’utiliser du plastique biodégradable, car cette option est mieux adaptée à la réalité du Québec et aux produits d’entretien ménager.

On dit d’un plastique qu’il est biodégradable s’il a la capacité d’être décomposé par les micro-organismes en étant en contact avec l’oxygène compris dans l’air. Par contre, en envoyant les bouteilles faites de plastique biodégradable dans les sites d’enfouissement, on ne suit pas une démarche écologique. En effet, la masse de déchet est trop importante pour que le plastique soit en contact avec les éléments nécessaires à sa décomposition.

De plus, les résines biodégradables actuellement disponibles sur le marché comportent un risque de réaction avec les produits nettoyants, ce qui n’est pas souhaitable.

C’est pourquoi la réutilisation des contenants pour des usages divers et le recyclage sont les moyens que Lavo préconise afin d’avoir un environnement plus sain.






TOXICITÉ

Qu’est-ce qui est considéré comme un produit toxique?

Il existe plusieurs définitions de la toxicité; celle formulée par Santé Canada définit un produit toxique comme étant un produit chimique qui est :

  • Capable de causer le décès d’un être humain;
  • Ou capable de causer un effet nocif grave et irréversible – mais non fatal – sur un être humain tel qu’un niveau réduit de connaissance, une faiblesse ou une paralysie musculaire, une entrave aigue au fonctionnement des reins ou du foie, une arythmie cardiaque, une hypotension, la dyspnée, une dépression respiratoire, de l’œdème pulmonaire ou une neurite optique;
  • Ou encore identifié dans la Partie 1 du Règlement sur les Produits Chimiques et Contenants de Consommation (2001) comme un produit toxique de la Catégorie 1.






Et pour les produits Hertel?

C’est dans cet esprit que nos chimistes ont formulé les produits Hertel pour être non toxiques.






Les produits de nettoyage sont-ils plus toxiques que les bactéries qu’ils tentent d’enrayer?

Non. Toutes les substances que contiennent les produits d’entretien ménager sont réglementées par Santé Canada et Environnement Canada en vertu de lois et de règlements et les fabricants ont démontré qu’elles sont sûres et efficaces si les produits sont utilisés selon le mode d’emploi. Le nettoyage et le contrôle de la propagation des microbes ont des effets bénéfiques sur la santé des personnes et de la collectivité.

Par exemple, l’emploi de désinfectants ou de produits antibactériens tue des bactéries telles que la salmonelle, qui cause des maladies intestinales, le staphylocoque, qui cause des infections cutanées, ainsi que les pseudomonas. Dans la gamme des produits Hertel, vous retrouverez 5 produits désinfectants, soit Hertel Plus et Hertel salle de bains avec eau de Javel La Parisienne, Hertel cuvette, Hertel crème et Hertel tout usage à vaporiser (fragrance citron verveine). Pour tuer les bactéries, on doit laisser agir les produits 10 minutes sur les surfaces à désinfecter avant de les rincer.






FOSSES SEPTIQUES

Est-ce que les produits Hertel représentent un danger pour les fosses septiques?

Dans un contexte d’une utilisation normale et en suivant bien les instructions, les produits Hertel ne présentent pas de danger pour les fosses septiques. Généralement, les produits sont utilisés et mélangés à l’eau avant d’atteindre les fosses septiques. De cette façon, le produit est dilué considérablement et représente une concentration très faible qui est sans danger pour les bactéries. De plus, la plupart des produits Hertel sont biodégradables, donc sans danger pour l’environnement. Par contre, il n’est pas recommandé de verser les produits Hertel directement dans la fosse septique.